NEB Grading System For Secondary Level

NEB Grading System: The National Examination Board (NEB) has introduced a grading system for the students of Class 10 & Class 12 in the academic year of 2017.

NEB Grading System For Secondary Level – SEE, Class 11, And Class 12

NEB Grading System: The National Examination Board (NEB) has introduced a grading system for the students of Class 10 & Class 12 in the academic year of 2017. SEE and NEB examinations were without the pass or fail tag for students but with the recent change in the evaluation system and grading system, students must get 35% in both internal and external evaluations. According to the new curriculum, the internal assessment should be based on core learning outcomes, classroom participation, and project work.

Now the students will be awarded on a 4.0 point scale grading system that is from Grade A to Grade D. The grades parameters are theory & practical marks.

NEB Class 10 & Class 12 Grading Systems

The new four-point scale grading system will require students to get qualifying grades in 8 out of 7 subjects in class 10 and 4 out of 5 subjects in class 12 to get promoted to the next higher class. The neb board has decided not to carry a pass or fail on the mark sheet of students. The neb grading system has been introduced to reduce the unnecessary pressure from students by means of continuous evaluation by taking a number of small tests throughout the year, instead of a single test at the end of the academic session.

The new NEB grading system will have a four-point scale, in which students will be awarded grades from A to E. This grading system was implemented to eliminate the schools from showing the numerical scores on the report card of each student. Know more about the NEB marking scheme and SEE and NEB grading system class 10 through this article. The four-point grading system employed to measure the academic achievements of students are given in the below table.

Marks Range Grade Grade Point
91-100 A+ 3.6 – 4
81-90 A 3.2 – 3.6
71-80 B+ 2.8 – 3.2
61-70 B 2.6 – 2.8
51-60 C+ 2.2 – 2.6
31-40 C 1.6-2.2
35 – 40 D+ 1.6 > NG

Also, these parameters will differ from one subject to the other subject. So under the new NEB grading system, no cumulative grade is awarded only subject-wise grades are awarded to the student. This article will provide you with all the necessary information regarding NEB Grading System for Class 10 SEE & 12. Read on to know everything about NEB Grading System.

NEB Grading System For Class 10 (SEE) and Class 12

The students of SEE and class 12 will be evaluated based on the 4-point grading system. For awarding the grades, the national examination board will put all the passed students in rank order and the board will award the grades to the students according to the table below:

Marks Range Grade Grade Point For SEE Exam Result

Marks Range Grade Grade Point
91-100 A+ 3.6
81-90 A 3.2
71-80 B+ 2.8
61-70 B 2.6
51-60 C+ 2.4
41-50 C 2.0
35-40 D+ 1.6 >NG

Convert GPA to percentage in Nepal

CGPA or Cumulative Grade Point Average is nothing but the statement of subject-wise performance in the certificate of a continuous and comprehensive evaluation that is a SEE and class 12 certificate. GPA is an average grade point of a student.

CGPA = Sum of grade points obtained in 5 main subjects/5.

So in order to calculate the percentage, follow the formula below:

Formula: CGPA X 25%= Percentage Obtained in SEE.

Formula: GPA X 25% = Percentage Obtained in Class 12

For example: If a candidate has obtained a 3.0 CGPA then his/her percentage is calculated as 3.0 X 25= 75%.

NEB and SEE Grading System Points to Remember

The important notes regarding NEB and SEE Grading System are tabulated below:

  • You can see numerical scores in the assessment of theory/practical papers in external subjects. The NEB Board will also indicate grades in the marks sheets in addition to numerical scores in subjects of external examinations. Grades will be shown only in internal assessment subjects.
  • Five types of grading are available to show the result, i.e. A, B, C, and D.
  • You have to score a minimum of D+ marks to qualify for the exam.
  • In Senior School Certificate Examination, in a subject involving practical work, you have to obtain a minimum C GPA in theory and a minimum C in the practical separately.

Advantages and Disadvantages of the NEB CGPA System

Let us now look in detail at the advantages and disadvantages of CGPA in education where it is used as an inevitable tool for assessing a studentโ€™s performance in school and college life.

Advantages of GPA

  • With the help of the GPA system, students can analyze and calculate their strengths and weaknesses and they can work on them.
  • The best part of NEB GPA is it decreases the pressure of getting high marks as the actual marks are not mentioned in the report cards.

Disadvantages of GPA

  • NEB GPA doesnโ€™t show the accurate performance of the students.
  • Due to the new NEB grading system, children tend to perform less because they know they will achieve the targeted grade even by committing a few mistakes.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) โ€“ NEB Grading System

What are the passing criteria for SEE?

As per pass criteria for class 10 SEE, students have to obtain overall D+ grades in each subject, both theory and practical/internal assessment taken together, in order to pass the examination.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *